Vacanies on the Tennessee Supreme Court

The Appellate Cour Nominating Commission will be meeting on April 20 and 21, 2006 to select three people to recommend to the Governor to serve on one of the two open spots on the Tennessee Supreme Court.

As of the application deadline of March 31, 2006, at 4:30 p.m. CST, the following persons have submitted their application for this judicial position:

Judge Gary R. Wade
Judge D. Kelly Thomas, Jr.
D. Bruce Shine
Judge J.C. McLin
George T. “Buck” Lewis
J. Houston Gordon
Chancellor Richard H. Dinkins
Philip A. Condra
Stephen A. Cobb
Judge Frank G. Clement, Jr.
Judge D’Army Bailey

After the Governor makes his appointment the Commission will meet again and select three people to recommend for the remaining spot. The first spot can go to a person from anywhere in the state; the last spot can go to a person who lives in either Grand Division that is not the residence of the winner of the first spot. Why? Because each of the three justices currently serving live in a different Grand Division and no more than two justices can come from any one Grand Division. Therefore, if the next justice comes from, say, East Tennessee the fifth justice must come from either West or Middle Tennessee.

The persons selected will not actually begin to serve until September 1, 2006; Justice Birch and Justice Anderson will continue to serve through August 31, 2006.

Contact Information