Tennessee Counties With No Jury Verdicts for Plaintiffs

What to know more about the explosion of personal injury and wrongful death jury verdicts in Tennessee? A report released by the Tennessee Administrative Office of the Courts revealed that the following Tennessee counties did not award one penny in damages in any tort case for the year ended June 30, 2011: 

District 1 – *Johnson, *Unicoi

District 3 – Hamblen, Hancock, *Hawkins

District  4 – *Cocke, *Grainger, Jefferson

District 8 – Claiborne, *Scott, *Fentress, *Union

District 9 – Meigs, *Morgan

District 10 – Bradley, *McMinn, Polk

District 12 – Bledsoe, Rhea, *Grundy, *Sequatchie, *Marion

District 13 – *Clay, Cumberland, *DeKalb, Overton, *Pickett, *White

District 15 – *Jackson, *Macon, *Smith, *Trousdale, Wilson

District 16 – *Cannon

District 17 –  Bedford, *Lincoln, *Marshall, *Moore

District 21 – *Hickman, *Lewis, Perry

District 22 – *Giles, *Lawrence, *Wayne

District 23 – Cheatham, *Houston, *Humpheys,*Dickson, Stewart

District 24 – Benton, *Carroll, *Decatur, *Hardin, Henry

District 25 – Tipton, Lauderdale, *McNairy, *Hardeman

District 26 –  *Chester, *Henderson

District 27 –  *Obion, *Weakley

District 28 –  *Crockett, Gibson, Haywood

District 29 – Dyer, *Lake

District 31 –  *Van Buren 

Lest you think that fine people of these counties are stingy or down-right mean, the presence of an "*" next to the county’s name means that there was not a jury trial in a tort case in that county for the year ending June 30, 2011.   

In other words, just under 50% of Tennessee’s counties (45 of 99) did not have a single jury trial in a tort case for an entire year.  

Contact Information